Day 22: Letting Jesus simmer

I am participating in an Advent devotional with the women in my small group. It’s great for lots of reasons. 1) It is helping me keep Jesus central this holiday season. 2) Doing this with the women in my small group helps hold me accountable for being in the Word daily 3) J-Pipes is a knows what’s up. His heart for Jesus excited me and challenges me all the more.

This is one thing that I read in the devotional that I’m really thankful for and that I’m gonna let simmer for the next few days:

“Do not think, because you experience adversity, that the hand of the Lord is shortened. It is not our prosperity but our holiness that he seeks with all his heart. And to that end, he rules the whole world. As Proverbs 21:1 says, “The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord; he turns it wher- ever he will.”

He is a big God for little people, and we have great cause to rejoice that, unbeknownst to them, all the kings and presidents and premiers and chancellors of the world follow the sovereign decrees of our Father in heaven, that we, the children, might be conformed to the image of his Son, Jesus Christ.”

Would you be letting this simmer in your heart this week too alongside me?

Leave a Reply

