Wait, you want me to memorize that?

If you were to ask me to memorize scripture not even two weeks ago I would have told you ‘yea, that sounds great, but I just don’t have the time.’ Well my friends, I have been asked to memorize a passage with a dear friend of mine and after a day of prayer about this, I felt a nudge and God saying, ‘well duh, obvi you should memorize my word.’

I am currently memorizing Matthew 6:25-34 to help force away my worry. Yes, it’s proving to be more difficult than I anticipated. I have many theories as to why I’m having a tough time with this, but those don’t matter. What matters is that I don’t quit until that piece of scripture is engraved on my heart in a manner that gives glory to God. I watched this video by John Piper (desiringgod.org) about a year ago and came across it today when I was looking up reasons to memorize scripture. He sums everything up very nicely in a short 4 minute video.

Reason number 7 is really resonating with me. Memorizing scripture “provides the strongest and sweetest words for ministry to those in need”. Yes. YES! It’s so true. I remember so many times in my short Christian journey that someone would sit me down and tell me the Gospel over and over again and fire scripture into my ears. I may not have understood every word, but I believed it to be real and true. Those words were strong, sweet, beautiful, reassuring, awe-ful, courageous, and full of pure and true love. I want these words in my mind all the time. What reason is resonating with you at the moment?

John 15:1-7 is a passage I will be meditating on (and who knows, maybe memorizing).

I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener.  He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunesso that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.  If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

source: desiringgod.org

Leave a Reply

