Dear “End of the World” Hype

Dear “End of the World” Hype,

I’m not really sure how to feel about you. I can truthfully say that I just learned about you a couple of weeks ago. My mom says that I shouldn’t hate anyone/thing, but I don’t feel like you belong in my life. I don’t want the world to end. I would miss my friends and family and all the strangers that are friends that I have yet to meet. I have broken relationships that I want to fix and people I want to tell how much I adore them. There is baking to be done, upholstery to be finished, and clothes to be washed.  I have adventures I am dreaming up in my head that I want to make a reality, and I have yet to live in Northern Ireland, the number 1 thing on my bucket list. I have an entire bucket list to still complete, concerts to attend, musicians to meet, smiles to share, laughter to laugh, people to hug, dreams to dream, and someone to fall in love with. If the world ends tomorrow, none of this would be possible. I want it to be possible. I live for possibilities.

But World, we’ve got to get something straight. You are a fallen, dark, sinful place. This is not where I belong, but I’m doing what I can to bring glory to the Lord, the one who makes all things bearable. I have loads of things that I want to do to be a Light here and show people how beautiful the Gospel really is. If you end tomorrow, World, I may not be able to do that. I want people to know Jesus so that they too can live in Heaven: the most perfect realm. And World, I think we can agree that Matthew 24:30-42 is true, so how did you come up with Saturday?

One last thing, World. If you end on Saturday, how am I suppose to get my $1 flip-flops at Old Navy?

Sincerely not yours,

Girl Living for Tomorrow’s Possibilities

Leave a comment