Love Knows No Size

One thing that I’ve always struggled with is the way that I look and sometimes feel about myself. Deep down, I know that I am beautiful both inside and out, but some days I just don’t believe it because there are so many other things in our society telling me otherwise. Since I was a little girl, I have seen advertisements either in print or on television, featuring a blond hair, blue-eyed, skinny-minny size 2 model. Now, I’m not a size 2, nor will I ever even be a size 10, but when I was growing up, that was “beautiful” to me. I have been feeding off of these false images of what a woman should look like for years and now that I am finally at the age where I can say and TRULY BELIEVE those images are wrong, I feel free. This is not saying that I still don’t struggle with my body image, or that I still don’t struggle with my self-confidence, this is acknowledging what is being portrayed in the media and not accepting it as the truth.

Today is Love Your Body Day. It is a day when attention is brought to woman and how they feel about themselves. It’s a day that accepts every woman, no matter what size. It is a day that asks woman to accept themselves and love what they see in the mirror.

Women deserve this day to be everyday and that’s why we’re fighting.

Leave a Reply

